Economics Department

The Department of Economics was established in the year 1972 as one of the departments of the JNU PG centre which subsequently became Manipur University. The objective of this programme is to provide students with a full understanding of economic theory and with firm grounding in the analytic methods of economic theory used by economists working in research, government, and business. It also aims at equipping the students with the analytical tools of economics to have a holistic understanding of the economy in particular and the society in general. It prepares them for challenging careers open to economists. 

The Department has an intake capacity of eighty students every year for the two-year Master degree programme. In addition to the 12 core courses, the Department offers four optional papers in any of the six specialisations namely Advanced Economic Theory; Agricultural Economics; Demography; Development Economics; Econometrics; Public Policy. 

While keeping in line with the guidelines of the University Grants Commission, the faculty incorporates from time to time significant latest developments in the subject. The curriculum and syllabi were last revised in 2011. The Ph D Programme of the Department concentrates on regional economic problems with special reference to the north eastern region of India. More than 90 scholars have been awarded Ph D degrees. Since 2011 in recognition of its research and teaching activities, Economics department has come under UGC Special Assistance Programme with Indo- Myanmar border trade as its thrust area.