*** MANIPUR UNIVERSITY ALUMNI[LINK] ***           |           *** ALUMNI REGISTRATION FROM [LINK].  (New) ***           |           *** Dr. Naorem Santa Singh, Project Scientist, Dept. of Life Science(Zoology), MU, has been awarded the ZSK-INDIA RESEARCH EXCELLENCE AWARD FOR OUTSTANDING CONTRIBUTION by ZSK, India on 16/10/2023  (New) ***           |           *** To Activate MHRD Wi-Fi service, Generate consent Form and Submit at Computer Centre. Click here to generate.  (New) ***           |           *** ADMISSION MUET 23-24   ***           |           *** ADMISSION CUET(UG/PG) 2023-24  (New) ***           |           *** PRE-PHD ADMISSION 2023 ***           |           *** ACADEMIC BANK OF CREDITS: ABC  (New) ***           |           ***  Prof. Yengkhom Raghumani Singh, Dept. of Earth Sc., has been selected as Adjunct Faculty in the Department of Geology & Environmental Scinece, University of Pittsburgh.  (New) ***           |           ***  15th CONVOCATION 2023: Register Now for 2013-2020 passout students;  (New) ***           |           ***  DOWNLOAD UG(BA/BSc/BCom) Online Provisional Marksheet.  (New) ***           |           *** Issue of 1st semester hostel fee payment is resolved and those students who already paid the fee shall download the fee receipt  (New) ***           |           *** Wi-Fi Registration Form Fill Up  (New) ***           |           *** Samarth EXAM FORM FILL UP for MU  (New) ***           |           *** Verification of financial transactions will be opened from 10:00 AM to 3:00 PM on every working day. (New) ***           |           *** Online Provisional Marksheet (BA/BSc)  ***           |           ***  Tender for Supply of Equipments & Consumable items; (New) ***           |           *** COVID-19: Mental Health Counselling [TIMING: 9:00 AM-5:00 PM] (New) ***           |           *** Faculties, Employees and Campus Dwellers of Manipur University may contact the Covid-19 Helpline Numbers @ +91-8119951558 / +91-841402472 (New) ***           |           *** COVID-19 related Notifications.  ***           |           *** Affiliating College Notifications; (New) ***           |           *** CYBER SECURITY TIPS  (New) ***           |              

Physics Department

Established in March 4th, 1977, the Department of Physics is one of the few departments that saw the light of day in the erstwhile Jawaharlal Nehru Institute of Post Graduate Studies, Imphal, of JNU, New Delhi; long before the establishment of Manipur University as a State University. The foundation stone of the present building of the Department was laid on September 3rd, 1978 by Prof B. D. Nag Choudhury, the then Vice Chancellor of JNU, New Delhi.

The first batch of M.Sc. course was started in 1978 with Prof H. Nandakumar Sarma as the founder Head of Department. The Department is privileged to be associated in its beginning years with eminent Physicists like Prof B. D. Nag Choudhury, who was Visiting Professor for a couple of years, after his retirement as Vice Chancellor of JNU , and Prof K. K. Gupta of TIFR Mumbai, who spent about 10 long years as Visiting Faculty during 1987 to 1997. The Department began with well qualified and dedicated faculties whose creative vision and dedication gave birth to Department of Computer Science, Earth Sciences Department and audio Visual Research Centre (AVRC), now EMMRC. It is a matter of pride that two Vice Chancellors of Manipur University (Central) are from this Physics Department – Prof C. Amuba Singh (2006-2011) and Prof H. Nandakumar Sarma (2011-2016). A feather to its cap was added when Prof R. K. Gartia was awarded the prestigious Emeritus Fellow of UGC in 2015.

The Department feels fortunate that many of its alumni are well placed, holding distinguished positions not only in the State but across India and some abroad too.

The Department, at present, has seven faculty members and six vacant positions. M.Sc. and Ph.D. programme are conducted in the Department. The present intake at M.Sc. course is 45 and the total number of research scholars is about 30.The active areas of research include Materials Science, High Energy Physics, Astrophysics, Non Linear Dynamics and Complex Systems, Space Physics, Thermoluminescence etc.

The Department is supported by DST, Government of India, under the FIST programme (Level II) and the UGC, New Delhi, under the Special Assistance Programme at DRS-II Level.