Manipur University, 05/06/2020: Manipur University observed 39th Manipur University Foundation Day cum World Environment Day 2020 on Friday, 5th of June 2020 at VC Court Hall, Manipur University. The function was orgaised by Manipur University Students' Union (MUSU) 2019-20. Jarnail Singh (Vice-Chancellor, MU), Prof. W. Chandbabu Singh (Registrar, MU), Prof. Thounaojam Ratankumar (Dean of Students Welfare), Prof. Amar Yumnam (Economic Department, MU) and Moirangthem Boby (President, MUSU) have graced the function as Chief Guest, Guest of Honours and President respectively.

The theme for World Environment Day 2020 as declared by UNO is, 'Time for Nature,' with a focus on its role we have planted trees inside the campus said a statement issued by Moirangthem Boby, President, MUSU 2019-20




Meanwhile, Centre for Biodiversity Studies, Departments of Botany & Zoology, Manipur University in collaboration with Mangolnganbi College, Ningthoukhong, Moirang College, Moirang & Society for Nature Conservation, Research & Community Engagement, West Bengal Catalysed and supported by Manipur Biodiversity Board (MBB) organised "Live Webinar: Manipur - A Paradise for Herpetology with snakebite problems" on 5th June 2020, World Environment Day 2020. The theme of the webinar is Living in harmony with Nature: "We are at war with nature, if we win, we are lost forever" said a statement issued by Prof. N. Mohilal Singh (Head, Department of Zoology, Manipur University).

Prof. N. Mohilal Singh during the webinar session.


In another news, result of online painting competition held on 5th June, 2020 (WORLD ENVIRONMENT DAY 2020) has been declared as statement issued by Moirangthem Boby (President, MUSU). Laishram Bipin (D.M. College of Arts, Imphal), Thoudam Prasanta (Mangolnganbi College, Ningthoukhong) and Linthoi Sapam (Kendriya Vidyalaya, Lamphelpat) have stood first position, second position and third position respectively.

Top 5 paintings of the online competition organised by MUSU in connection to WORLD ENVIRONMENT DAY 2020 will be published in the upcoming XXth ECHO (KHONTHQNG) Publication.
1. Laishram Bipin, D.M. College of Arts, Imphal.
2. Thoudam Prasanta, Mangolnganbi College, Ningthoukhong
3. Linthoi Sapam, Kendriya Vidyalaya, Lamphelpat
4. Venish Keisham, Pitambara English School, Kwakeithel.
5. Sh.Krishnachandra Sharma, Dept. of Fine Arts, MU.